The one gesture that reinforced I give too much of myself.

I’m working to stop it.

Margaret Sitawa
3 min readNov 2, 2021

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

There is one common tongue we all know that describes these times. Specifically, this and year and the last. The pandemic era is the name. A time when touching, kissing, hugging, and overly the closeness of human beings became something to avoid.

Covid-19 made people stay indoors, refrain from seeing each other, and slowly stifled the world socially.

Last year, I found it difficult how things were, mostly the masks.

I like staying indoors but being forced to do so was not something I appreciated. Moreso, I missed the tight hugs but not so much the handshakes. We used to hug with friends when we met and colleagues at work, but now people look at you when you do. It is the forbidden fruit of sorts, especially when a colleague does it.

This year, things are more relaxed.

We moved from elbow bumps to fist bumps, and without gloves at that. It is a better contact because you would not know if someone will greet you or jab you with those elbow greetings.

My uncle from upcountry came to live in the city. He lives close to us, so we get to see each other more often. He is in his late fifties…

--

--

Margaret Sitawa

You'll find poems and stories with a personal touch here. Whatever you'll find, is my truth.